School of Medicine

You are here

  Isfahan University of Medical Sciences (IUMS) was established in 1946. It is one of the reputed universities run by the central government and is located in the ancient city of Isfahan. It offers teaching and training programmes from under-graduation to post-graduation  for 32 disciplines viz-a-viz eight major schools and departments, including  medicine, dentistry, pharmacy, nursing, midwifery, public health, rehabilitation, health management, and medical education. Student’s admission is purely on merit basis and eligibility rank achieved through the National University Entrance Examination (NUEE). Currently admission is granted to nearly 20,000 students across the nation and abroad, including Afghanistan, India, Iraq, Syria, Pakistan, Germany, United States of America.  

  This school introduced a 7-year degree course in medicine (MD) in 1950.  Over a period of time several degree programmes, specializations as well as super-specialization in medicine have emerged. With more than Today, the school offers specializations in more than twenty disciplines, including allergy & immunology, anesthesiology, dermatology, diagnostic radiology, emergency medicine, social medicine, family medicine, internal medicine, medical genetics, neurology, nuclear medicine, obstetrics and gynecology, ophthalmology, pathology, pediatrics, physical medicine & rehabilitation, preventive medicine, psychiatry, radiation oncology, surgery, and urology. Students at IUMS medical college have the opportunity to get trained through facilities, such as virtual school. Over fifty specialized research centers such as Medical Education, Auditory, Musculoskeletal Disease, Cardiovascular Diseases, Oral Health, Children Congenital Disease, Infectious Disease, Metabolic Liver Disease, Bioinformatics, Emergency Medicine, Digestive Disease, Skin Diseases, Endocrinology and Metabolism, Reproductive Health, Nursing and Midwifery Care, Acquired Immunodeficiency, Physiology and Pharmaceutics have been established in IUMS. These departments offer medical services to the public and transform medical knowledge to students at different levels through several hospitals, including AL Zahra, Khorshid, Imam Mosa Kazem, Omid, Amin, Ayatollah Kashani, Shahid Beheshti, Shahid Chamran, Feiz, Imam Hossain, Farabi and Isa Ibn Maryam, across Isfahan city. Our academic schedule is semester-based: the fall semester begins in September and ends in January while the spring semester begins in February and ends in June. Foreign students can apply for eligibility throughout the year..

  We aim at producing medical leaders for the society. To this end students go through journey of intellectual transformation by getting exposure to new ideas, ways of understanding, and knowing. The campus environment provides ample opportunity for social interaction with their fellow colleagues from diverse cultural background.

  In this school we adhere to international standards tailored for learning and growing of the youth who are desirous to become future clinicians and medical teachers. We are committed to creating and sustaining optimum conditions through which our students will experience a journey that is intellectually, socially, and personally transformative. 

   School of Medicine comprises of 32 teaching departments ( 23  in clinical sciences and the remaining 8 in basic sciences), as well as 50 research centres.  All departments use 35 teaching hospitals for filed work and training of medical students for clerkship, internship, and residency, from general medicine to post-graduation in various specializations.